Student Wait List Information
Being on the waitlist does not guarantee you a seat in the class. It does, however give you a priority making it more likely you will get a seat in the class.
Once you have added your name to a wait list, you can check your status (Active, Expired or Permission to Register) and rank (for example, you are now number 2 of 5 students on the list) by going into Manage My Waitlist on My West Hills. You should check your status on My West Hills frequently, to allow yourself the maximum amount of time to enroll once you have “Permission to Register”.
If space becomes available in your wait list course prior to the start of classes, you will receive a notification that the space is being reserved for you. The message will be sent by email or you can access the information by checking Manage My Wait List for the “Permission to Register” status.
Once permission is granted, you will have five calendar days to enroll in the class, via My West Hills (includes weekends and holidays). After five days, if you have not enrolled in the class, your name will be removed from the wait list and the next student on the list will be notified that they are eligible to fill the open seat. Once your name is removed from the list, you no longer have priority status. It is your responsibility to check your email and/or your wait list status. The time allowed for enrollment will not be extended.
All prerequisites must be met before being placed on a wait list.
There is no fee for adding your name to a wait list. However, once you have registered for the class, if fees are not paid within 24 hours, you might be dropped from all classes.
If you are on a wait list at the start of instruction, you must attend the first class meeting to see if there is space available for late enrollment. If you do not attend the first class, you lose your place on the priority listing and another student may be added instead.
Students on a wait list for an online class should watch their email at the start of instruction. If a space becomes available, you will receive an email that you have been moved into the class. You then have 48 hours to login to the class and confirm your enrollment.